Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1methuselah Oct 31 2008, 17:16 PM
good mentoring gents!

Clan: GameReplays.org

Game: Generals 2

+
# 2Strev_123 Oct 31 2008, 20:57 PM
Firstly hi, thanks for taking your time to help me out... smile.gif

Secondly, I think you've drawn the short straw, I've mostly played offline skirmishes to get the hang of the controls but appart from two online games that I got anihilated in 0wn3d.gif (second faired better than the first though..) I'm a complete newbie to online play. I know very little of build orders and no other stratergies other than build as many units as my eco will allow and shoot the enemy (somewhat randomly). So the best bet would be to start at the beginning....

Look forward to hearing from you, and thanks again

Game: Command and Conquer 3

+
# 3Disco2Disco Nov 1 2008, 00:10 AM
Hello mate, actually I think you have drawn the short straw getting me! tongue.gif

This game was the first I ever been online with too, in fact previous experience of RTS was limited to RA2 and Yuri's Revenge! So don't worry you will soon be holding your own!

First thing is to have a read of this article.

Second: Do you know the maps, their layouts, points of interest such as tiberium spikes, emp control centres, where the green tiberium fields are, or where the blue tiberium patches are?

Do you know that green tiberium is worth less than blue tiberium for example?

The most common issue when going online is getting the economy right. If you dont have as much cash as your opponent you cant produce as many units, so you end up losing. For an average size green tiberium field you want to be having 2 refinery's and 5 harvesters.

Do you know the units of all three factions (GDI, Nod, Scrin)?

If you have any questions by the way, just ask, no matter how silly you think they may be, ok?